Texas Lobbyist News

After a flurry of campaign commercials and (mostly negative) mail pieces, the primary run-off has come and gone. With the Election Day occurring on the Tuesday following the Memorial Day holiday (May 27), turnout was predictably low. Thunderstorms occurring across the state likely lowered turnout further.

This election cycle pit Republican vs. Republican in a number of contested primary run-offs for statewide office.

Current Attorney General Greg Abbott is definitely the Republican candidate for Governor in November. He will face Democrat Wendy Davis, a current State Senator made famous by her filibusters. That was decided in the primary election.

Current Republican State Senator, Glenn Hegar, will be the party’s candidate for Comptroller in November.

The Lt. Governor, Attorney General, Agriculture Commissioner, and a seat on the Railroad Commission were all up for grabs on Tuesday. Keep in mind that this is the first time in 20 years that Governor Perry has not been on the ballot. There were a lot of candidates waiting to run. And run, they all did……

Now for the results:

Tea Party Republicans dominated Statewide Races.

Sitting Lt. Governor, Republican David Dewhurst, who has held statewide office for 15 years (4 years as Land Commissioner, 11 years as Lt. Gov.), but lost a U.S. Senate primary to Tea Party opponent Ted Cruz in 2012, was dealt the same fate…..

Dewhurst lost handily to State Senator Dan Patrick (R-Houston) only capturing just under 35% of the vote. The Lt. Governor’s race was truly one of the ugliest campaigns this state has ever seen. Senator Patrick has promised – and is expected – to run the Republican-dominated State Senate in a more conservative manner than his predecessor.

In the Attorney General’s race, Tea-Party backed Attorney General Candidate and current State Senator, Ken Paxton (R-McKinney) was also victorious. He handily beat State Representative Dan Branch, a Republican from Highland Park in Dallas (64%-36%).

Other statewide candidates, and Tea Party candidates, were also victorious.Former State Representative Sid Miller won his contest for AG Commissioner and Ryan Sitton walked away with his bid for Railroad Commissioner.

On the Democratic side, even Kinky Friedman lost his primary tonight….

These were the real races most consider as a pre-requisite to the General Election in November. Texas Democrats have not won a statewide election in 2 decades.

More detailed information on what occurred on election night is on the way…

But this is the scoop!

For more detailed and up to the minute info, please go tohttps://team1.sos.state.tx.us/enr/