Texas 86th Legislative Session

On Wednesday, January 23, Speaker of the House Dennis Bonnen announced committee assignments for the 86th Legislature. “I want every member to know, every member was considered thoughtfully in these assignments,” Bonnen told lawmakers. “I don’t want a single member to not feel a part of this house.”

There are several notable changes from last session, including new chairs for three powerful House committees. Rep. Dustin Burrows, R-Lubbock, will chair the Ways & Means Committee, which is responsible for considering tax legislation and was previously chaired by Speaker Bonnen. Rep, Dade Phelan, R-Beaumont, will chair the State Affairs Committee, previously chaired by Byron Cook, R-Corsicana, before his retirement. The Calendars Committee will be chaired by Rep. Four Price, R-Amarillo, replacing Rep. Todd Hunter, R-Corpus Christi.

Twelve Democrats will also chair committees, including the Business and Industry (Rep. Trey Martinez Fischer of San Antonio), Higher Education (Chris Turner of Grand Prairie), Transportation (Terry Canales of Edinburg), and Public Health Committees (Rep. Senfronia Thompson). Committee chairmanships are listed in full below, and a full list of House committee assignments can be viewed here.

Agriculture – Rep. Drew Springer
Appropriations – Rep. John Zerwas
Business – Rep. Trey Martinez Fischer
Calendars – Rep. Four Price
Corrections – Rep. James White
County Affairs – Rep. Garret Coleman
Criminal Jurisprudence – Rep. Nicole Collier
Culture – Rep. John Cyrier
Defense – Rep. Dan Flynn
Elections – Rep. Stephanie Klick
Energy – Rep. Chris Paddie
Environmental Regulation – Rep. J.M. Lozano
General Investigating – Rep. Morgan Meyer
Higher Education – Rep. Chris Turner
Homeland Security – Rep. Poncho Nevarez
House Administration – Rep. Charlie Geren
Human Services – Rep. James Frank
Insurance – Rep. Eddie Lucio III
International Relations – Rep. Rafael Anchia
Judiciary – Rep. Jeff Leach
Juvenile Justice – Rep. Harold Dutton
Land and Resource Management – Rep. Tom Craddick
Licensing – Rep. Tracy King
Local Calendars – Rep. Geanie Morrision
Natural Resources – Rep. Lyle Larson
Pensions – Rep. Jim Murphy
Public Education – Rep. Dan Huberty
Public Health – Rep. Senfronia Thompson
Redistricting – Rep. Phil King
State Affairs – Rep. Dade Phelan
Transportation – Rep. Terry Canales
Urban Affairs – Rep. Angie Chen Button
Ways and Means – Rep. Dustin Burrows